Samusocial Pointe-Noire

samusocial Pointe-Noire © Serge Valloni

Pointe-Noire, Republic of Congo – created in 2006 

 

The Congo is going through a period characterized by the great vulnerability of part of its population, a situation accentuated by the crisis and the economy’s heavy dependence on oil revenues. The samusocialPointe-Noire (SSPN), created in 2006 at the request of the town hall, aims to help a particularly vulnerable population, children and young people in street situations.
In order to compensate for the shortcomings in terms of sustainable and equitable inclusive public services, samusocialPointe-Noire continues its daily monitoring activities according to Samusocial International’s emergency method and has recently set up a professional support project for young adults.

Activities:

Mobiles 2Mobile Help Teams

1 weekly “exploratory” maraude to research new territories for street children and youth.
2 maraudes dedicated to specific sites on the outskirts.

 

 

Emergency accomodation/ day center

An emergency accommodation centre with nursing and psychological care (CHUSIP) which offers a short- and medium-term accommodation solution for a capacity of 24 children.
In 2017, 169 children (including 145 boys and 24 girls) were accommodated at the CHUSIP and benefited from 320 socio-educational activities: literacy sessions, sports activities, stories, drawing, etc…

 

 

Orientation 2Orientation and integration assistance

The children or young people planning to leave the street have benefited from the structured frameworks offered by CHUSIP and partner centres to finalise their projects (schooling, vocational training and return to their families). Exchanges were continued with local companies in order to encourage them to identify promising sectors of activity that correspond to the profiles of young people. This initiative resulted in the creation of a private/public platform in 2017.

 

 

Actions 2Advocacy actions

The agreement signed in 2014 with the local authorities to set up the consultation framework on the care of street children and youth has enabled concrete solutions to be put in place, such as reducing hospital costs, promoting and disseminating the Potignon Act, mapping stakeholders, etc. Since then, nearly 18 state bodies and their devolved services have been directly or indirectly involved in achieving the objectives assigned to the consultation framework. Finally, in 2017, the celebrations of the Day of the African Child and the UNCRC were forums for street children and young people to demand their rights from the public authorities themselves.

 

 

Soutien 2Support to partner associations

SSPN continued to provide technical and financial support to partner associations. 4 quarterly meetings for monitoring children and coordinating actions were organized. In 2017, the SSPN also organized training on ethics and professional conduct. In order to empower young adults, partnership agreements have been signed with the ANEP and CADB associations. These grants cover literacy and academic upgrading activities and vocational training for 24 street youth. In addition, the day centre of the Salesian Association of Don Bosco has been extended (currently in the finishing phase), in order to improve its reception capacity and support services in street exit projects.

 

Key figures 2017

659 medical care
1661 medical consultations
1114 social interviews
422 psychological interviews
422 beneficiaries of the action
182 beneficiaries
77 children with a project to leave the street
285 maraudes (night / day)
150 medical-psychosocial consultations with partners

255 medical-psychosocial hotlines

 

For more information :

Contact : samusocial.pn@gmail.com

Facebook : Samusocial Pointe-Noire

SSPN

samusocial Pointe-Noire

samusocial Pointe-Noire © Serge Valloni

Pointe-Noire, République du Congo – créé en 2006 

Le Congo vit une période marquée par la grande vulnérabilité d’une partie de sa population, situation accentuée par la crise et la forte dépendance de l’économie à la rente pétrolière. Le samusocialPointe-Noire, créé en 2006 à la demande de la mairie de la ville, a pour but de venir en aide à une population particulièrement vulnérable, celle des enfants et jeunes en situation de rue.
Afin de pallier aux insuffisances en matière de services publics inclusifs durables et équitables, le samusocialPointe-Noire poursuit ses activités de suivi au quotidien selon la méthode d’urgence du Samusocial International et a récemment mis en place un projet d’accompagnement professionnel des jeunes adultes.

Activités :

Mobiles 2Equipes mobiles d’aide

1 maraude « exploratoire » hebdomadaire pour la recherche de nouveaux territoires d’implantation des enfants et jeunes de la rue.
2 maraudes dédiées à des sites précis dans les périphéries.

 

 

 

Hébergement d’urgence/ Centre du jour

Un centre d’hébergement d’urgence avec soins infirmiers et psychologiques (CHUSIP) qui offre une solution d’hébergement à court et moyen terme pour une capacité d’accueil de 24 enfants.
En 2017, 169 enfants (dont 145 garçons et 24 filles) ont été hébergés au CHUSIP et ont bénéficié de 320 activités socio-éducatives : séances d’alphabétisation, activités sportives, contes, dessin etc…

 

 

Orientation 2Orientation et aide à l’insertion

Les enfants ou jeunes engagés dans un projet de sortie de rue ont bénéficié de cadres structurés qu’offrent le CHUSIP et les centres partenaires pour finaliser leurs projets (scolarisation, formation professionnelle et retour en famille). Des échanges ont été poursuivis avec des entreprises locales afin de les inciter à identifier les secteurs d’activités prometteurs d’emploi correspondant aux profils des jeunes. Cette initiative s’est traduite par la création d’une plateforme privé/public en 2017.

 

 

Actions 2Actions de plaidoyer

La convention constitutive du cadre de concertation des acteurs sur la prise en charge des enfants et jeunes de la rue, signée en 2014 avec les autorités locales, a permis la mise en place de solutions concrètes telles que la réduction de coût hospitalier, la promotion et divulgation de la loi Potignon, la cartographie des acteurs, etc. Depuis, près de 18 organes de l’état et leurs services déconcentrés participent directement ou indirectement à la réalisation des objectifs assignés au cadre de concertation. Enfin, en 2017 les célébrations de la journée de l’enfant africain et de la CIDE ont été des tribunes offertes aux enfants et jeunes de la rue pour qu’ils réclament, eux même, leurs droits auprès des pouvoirs publics.

 

 

Soutien 2Soutien aux associations partenaires

Le SSPN a continué d’apporter son soutien technique et son appui financier aux associations partenaires. 4 réunions trimestrielles de suivi d’enfants et de coordination d’actions ont été organisées. En 2017, le SSPN a également organisé une formation sur l’éthique et la déontologie. En vue de l’autonomisation des jeunes adultes, les conventions de partenariat ont été signées avec les Associations ANEP et CADB. Ces subventions portent sur l’activité d’alphabétisation et de remise à niveau scolaire et sur la formation professionnelle de 24 jeunes de la rue. A ceci s’ajoutent les travaux d’agrandissement du Centre d’Accueil de jour de l’association des Salésiens de Don Bosco (actuellement en phase de finition), afin d’améliorer sa capacité d’accueil et ses services d’accompagnement dans les projets de sortie de rue.

 

Chiffre clés 2017

659 soins médicaux
1661 consultations médicales
1114 entretiens sociaux
422 entretiens psychologiques
422 bénéficiaires de l’action
182 bénéficiaires
77 enfants ayant un projet de sortie de rue
285 maraudes (nuit / jour)
150 permanences médico-psychosociales chez les partenaires

255 permanences médico-psychosociales

 

Plus d’informations :

Contact : samusocial.pn@gmail.com

Facebook : Samusocial Pointe-Noire

SSPN