samusocial Mali

samusocial Mali © Harandane Dicko

Bamako, Mali – crated in 2001

Mali is one of the poorest countries in the world: more than half of its population lives below the poverty line. The first population affected by this precariousness is children and young people surviving on the streets. This phenomenon, linked to strong urban growth, is concentrated in the city of Bamako. Many of these children and young people are victims of social exclusion and are exposed to risks to their health and lives.

In response to the increase of the issue since 2013, SamusocialMali intervenes daily in Bamako with street children and youth, through medical, psychosocial and educational care, and has also set up a team specifically dedicated to the follow-up of adolescent and young street women. It works in close partnership with the district town hall, associations and social services, brought together within a consultation framework.

Activities :

Mobiles 2Mobile help teams

Maraudes in Bamako every evening, two evenings a week are dedicated to young girls and young mothers. These tours provide medical, psychosocial care and personalized support, alongside distributions of “porridge”, condoms and educational talks on hygiene, nutrition and safety issues.

 

 

Emergency accommodation/ day center

SamusocialMali relies on partner accommodation centers which enabled 251 beneficiaries to be referred in 2017

 

 

 

 

Orientation 2Orientation and integration assistance

In 2017, 143 beneficiaries were supported in the implementation of schooling, vocational training and apprenticeship projects, particularly in agriculture and truck driving.

 

 

 

Actions 2Advocacy actions

In 2011,¬†samusocialMali¬†promoted the creation of a consultation framework for actors in the struggle against the social exclusion of street children and youth in order to raise public authorities’ awareness of this problem and facilitate the implementation of joint and concerted actions. samusocialMali also organizes thematic workshops to present the results of certain activities. Thus, a restitution seminar was held in November 2017 for the restitution of the results of the survey CAP (Knowledge, Attitudes and Practices) on HIV/AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria carried out in April / May 2017 by the mobile teams of¬†¬†samusocialMali.

 

 

 

Soutien 2

Support to partner associations

SamusocialMali relies on partner associations to direct children who request it to reception and accommodation centers but also to treat children, when necessary, in medical centers. samusocialMali provides capacity building and a continuous training program for the staff of these partner structures, essential for good care. In 2017, samusocialMali carried out 189 medical-psychosocial consultations with partners.
SamusocialMali also launched, in 2017, an initial training programme for students of the National Institute for Training Social Workers (INFTS) in Bamako, which reached 243 finalist students in the two INFTS cycles (middle and higher cycles).

 

Key figures

251 orientations and accomodation

1934 psychosocial interview

944 educational interview

1202  beneficiaries of the action

348 night maraudes

199 day maraudes

1881 medical treatments

 

For more information:

Contact : samusocialmali@gmail.com

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/SamusocialMali/?fref=ts

samusocial Mali

samusocial Mali © Harandane Dicko

Bamako, Mali – créé en 2001

 

Le Mali est l’un des pays les plus pauvres de monde : plus de la moitié de sa population vit sous le seuil de pauvreté. La première population touchée par cette précarité est celle des enfants et jeunes survivant dans la rue. Ce phénomène, lié à la forte croissance urbaine, est concentré dans la ville de Bamako. Nombreux, ces enfants et jeunes sont victimes d’exclusion sociale et sont exposés à des risques pour leur santé et leur vie.

Pour répondre à cette problématique – en constante augmentation depuis 2013, le samusocialMali intervient quotidiennement à Bamako auprès des enfants et jeunes de la rue, à travers une prise en charge médicale, psychosociale et éducative, et a mis en place une équipe spécifiquement dédiée au suivi des adolescentes et jeunes femmes de la rue. Il travaille en partenariat étroit avec la Mairie du district, les acteurs associatifs et les services sociaux, réunis au sein d’un cadre de concertation.

Activités :

Mobiles 2Equipes mobiles d’aide

Maraudes dans Bamako tous les soirs, deux soirs par semaines sont dédiés aux jeunes filles et jeunes mères. Ces tournées permettent des soins médicaux, psychosociaux et un accompagnement personnalisé, la distribution de «bouillie», de préservatifs ainsi que des « causeries » à visée éducative sur les questions d’hygiène, d’alimentation et de sécurité.

 

 

Hébergement d’urgence/ centre de jour

Le samusocialMali s’appuie sur des centres d’hébergement partenaires qui ont permis l’orientation de 251 bénéficiaires en 2017

 

 

 

Orientation 2Orientation et aide à l’insertion

En 2017, 143 bénéficiaires ont suivi un accompagnement dans la réalisation de projets de scolarisation, de formation professionnelle et d’apprentissage, notamment sur les métiers de l’agriculture ou encore la conduite de poids-lourd.

 

 

 

Actions 2Actions de plaidoyer

En 2011, le samusocialMali a impulsé la création du cadre de concertation des acteurs de la lutte contre l’exclusion sociale des enfants et jeunes de la rue afin de sensibiliser les pouvoirs publics à cette problématique et faciliter la mise en œuvre d’actions conjointes et concertées. En 2017, le samusocialMali a d’ailleurs mis en avant différentes actions de plaidoyer auprès des autorités locales et nationales afin de renforcer la lutte contre l’exclusion sociale des enfants et jeunes des rues à Bamako.Le samusocialMali organise aussi des ateliers thématiques pour présenter les résultats de certaines activités. Ainsi, un séminaire de restitution a eu lieu en novembre 2017 pour la restitution des résultats de l’enquête CAP (Connaissances, Attitudes et Pratiques) sur le VIH/Sida, Tuberculose et paludisme réalisée en avril / mai 2017 par les équipes mobiles du samusocialMali.

 

 

 

Soutien 2

Soutien aux associations partenaires

Le samusocialMali s’appuie sur des associations partenaires notamment pour orienter les enfants qui en font la demande vers des centres d’accueil et d’hébergement mais aussi pour soigner les enfants, quand cela est nécessaire, dans des centres médicaux. Le samusocialMali apporte un renforcement des capacités et un programme de formation continue des personnels de ces structures partenaires, indispensable pour une bonne prise en charge. Le samusocialMali a réalisé en 2017 189 permanences médico-psychosociales auprès des partenaires.
Le samusocialMali a aussi lancé, en 2017, un programme de formation initiale des étudiants de l’Institut National de Formation des Travailleurs Sociaux (INFTS) de Bamako, qui a touché 243 étudiants finalistes des deux cycles de l’INFTS (cycles moyens et supérieurs).

 

Chiffres clés

251 orientations en hébergement

1934 entretiens psychosociaux

944 entretiens éducatifs

1202 bénéficiaires de l’action

348 maraudes de nuit

199 maraudes de jour

1881 soins médicaux

 

Plus d’informations :

Contact : samusocialmali@gmail.com

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/SamusocialMali/?fref=ts