Samusocial International in Lebanon

Beirut, Lebanon – created in 2017

With a vulnerable population of nearly 1.5 million and a massive population of Syrian refugees fleeing the conflict, Lebanon faces one of the worst humanitarian crises in its history. More than half of the people affected by the crisis are urban children living in often appalling and miserable conditions; in Beirut, more and more of them work or beg in the streets.

The Samusocial mobile aid team, led by the Lebanese association AMEL International, intervenes day and night in the most vulnerable areas of the city of Beirut with children and young people in situations of great exclusion. The action of Samusocial International and its partner AMEL contributes to fighting against the social and health exclusion of these most vulnerable young people and children, especially among uprooted populations who have found refuge in Lebanon, by mobilizing and developing national and international assistance and protection systems

Activities :

Mobiles 2

Mobile Help Teams 

Day and night maraudes according to security conditions and situations encountered to provide medical care and social, educational and legal support to street children.

 

 

Emergency Accommodation / Day Centre

Day services provide information and awareness sessions in the areas of health and psychosocial assistance only when it is not possible to make maraudes.

 

 

Orientation 2

guidance and integration assistance

A detailed mapping of the social and health services network and the existing reception and accommodation centers has been drawn up.
The main part of the legal assistance consists in informing and referring refugees to the pre-registration services of the Office of the High Commissioner for Refugees and ensuring assistance in the preparation of identity documents and civil status documents.

 

 

Advocacy actions

The data collected will be shared with state actors and national and international partners, in order to raise awareness on the problems encountered and influence health and social policies.

 

 

Support to partner associations

Samusocial International brings its expertise in mobile assistance intervention in urban areas. On the other hand, Amel Association has an existing operational mechanism, medical technical expertise and knowledge of Lebanese protection and assistance mechanisms.
In addition, the programme is developing a humanitarian, national and international network of actors involved in the refugee crisis for immediate protection solutions in Lebanon. Close collaboration with UNHCR, IRC and the Makhzoumi Foundation (the main actors involved in the protection of street children in Beirut) is taking shape.

 

Results of the first 5 months of intervention:

  • June 2017 : Recruitment of the Samusocial International team
  • July 2017 : First day and night maraudes of the mobile team
  • August 2017 : Mapping of partners and first accompaniment of young people and children in street situations
  • September – October 2017 : Development of specific operational partnerships in the field of protection, mental health, education and psychosocial assistance

Key figures

  • 235 children and young people in street situations identified
  • 260 individual care and support provided
  • 122 supported
  • 240 beneficiaries of the action

 

More informations :

Contact : ls.sorlin@samu-social-international.com

Samusocial International au Liban

Beyrouth, Liban – créé en 2017

Avec une population vulnérable de près d’1.5 million et une population massive de réfugiés syriens fuyant le conflit, le Liban fait face à l’une des plus graves crises humanitaires de son histoire. Plus de la moitié des personnes touchées par la crise sont des enfants en milieu urbain vivant dans des conditions souvent indignes et misérables ; à Beyrouth, ils sont de plus en plus nombreux à travailler ou mendier en rue.

L’équipe mobile d’aide Samusocial, portée par l’association libanaise AMEL International, intervient de jour comme de nuit dans les zones les plus vulnérables de la ville de Beyrouth auprès des enfants et jeunes en situation de grande exclusion. L’action du Samusocial International et de son partenaire AMEL contribue à lutter contre l’exclusion sociale et sanitaire de ces jeunes et enfants les plus vulnérables, en particulier parmi les populations déracinées qui ont trouvé refuge au Liban en mobilisant et développant les systèmes nationaux et internationaux d’assistance et de protection.

 

Activités :

Mobiles 2

Equipes Mobiles d’Aide (EMA)

Maraudes de jour et de nuit selon les conditions de sécurité et les situations rencontrées pour prodiguer des soins médicaux et un accompagnement social, éducatif et juridique aux enfants en situation de rue.

 

 

Hébergement d’Urgence / Centre de jour

Hébergement d’Urgence / Centre de jourLes permanences de jour ne sont réalisées que lorsqu’il n’est pas possible de faire des maraudes et pour assurer des sessions d’information et de sensibilisation dans les domaines de la santé et l’assistance psychosociale.

 

Orientation 2

Orientations et aide à l’insertion

Une cartographie détaillée du réseau de services sociaux et sanitaires et des centres d’accueil et d’hébergement existants a été constituée.
L’essentiel de la prise en charge juridique consiste à informer et orienter les réfugiés vers les services de pré-enregistrement du Haut-Commissariat pour les Réfugiés et à garantir une assistance pour l’établissement des documents d’identité et actes d’état-civil.

 

 

Actions plaidoyer

Les données collectées seront partagées avec les acteurs étatiques et les partenaires nationaux et internationaux, afin de sensibiliser sur les problématiques rencontrées et d’influencer les politiques sanitaires et sociales.

 

 

 

Soutien aux associations partenaires

Le Samusocial International apporte son expertise dans l’intervention mobile d’aide dans les zones urbaines. D’autre part, Amel Association est fort d’un dispositif opérationnel existant, d’une expertise technique médicale et d’une connaissance des mécanismes de protection et d’assistance libanais.
Par ailleurs, le programme développe un réseau humanitaire, national et international d’acteurs impliqués dans la crise des réfugiés pour des solutions de protection immédiate au Liban. Une collaboration étroite avec le HCR, IRC et la Fondation Makhzoumi (principaux acteurs intervenant dans la protection des enfants en situation de rue de Beyrouth) prend forme.

 

Résultats des 5 premiers mois d’intervention :

  • Juin 2017 : Recrutement de l’équipe du Samusocial International
  • Juillet 2017 : Premières maraudes de jour et de nuit de l’équipe mobile
  • Août 2017 : Cartographie des partenaires et premiers accompagnements de jeunes et enfants en situation de rue
  • Septembre – octobre 2017 : Développement de partenariats opérationnels spécifiques dans le domaine de la protection, de la santé mentale, de l’éducation et de l’assistance psychosociale

 

Chiffres clés

  • 235 enfants et jeunes en situation de rue identifiés
  • 260 soins individuels et accompagnements dispensés
  • 122 prises en charge
  • 240 bénéficiaires de l’action

 

Plus d’informations :

Contact : ls.sorlin@samu-social-international.com