About us

According to the United Nations (UN), as a result of growing urbanisation more than 60% of the world population will live in cities by 2030 and likely in bigger and bigger cities such as metropolises.

This fast pace and unregulated urbanisation contribute to growing numbers of uprooted people, without any access to basic services and far from accessing economical opportunities.

In both developed and developing countries, though severe exclusion is linked to poverty, precarious conditions, as well as difficult access to material resources, exclusion is a much more complex concept, and resulting from a long process of lacking multiple supports, experiencing disconnections and deprivations. Exclusion is a social death sentence.

In order to respond to the needs of persons in severe exclusion living in cities, Doctor Xavier Emmanuelli launched ‘samusocialdeParis’ in 1993 with the mission to reach out to these persons.

Qui sommes-nous

Drawing from this first experience and to answer the numerous requests coming from other cities, samusocialInternational was created in 1998 with the following mission, as stated in its statutes :

“Using all possible public information and training programs, in all world cities where problems linked to social exclusion arise (including problems of shelter, food, access to care, psychological suffering and any other consequence of rejection and the breakdown of human, economic and social links), to create, promote and support arrangements similar to those operated by samusocialdeParis and which meet the criteria set out in the objectives and charter of samusocialInternational, and to perform directly or indirectly related tasks. Agreements, exchanges of all types and training arrangements shall be established. The Association’s objectives shall also include collecting funds and organising finance on national territory to support samusocial organisations, in accordance with the spirit of samusocialdeParis and, in the same conditions, creating, supporting and assisting the action, research and special interests of samusocial organisations overseas. samusocialInternational shall also appraise, evaluate and guarantees the minimum quality criteria that all bodies going by the name of "samusocial" must abide to.”
® samusocial International | Imprint | Contact us | Webdesign : Limbus Studio

Qui sommes-nous

Selon les prévisions des Nations Unies (ONU), l’urbanisation croissante amènera plus de 60 % de la population mondiale à vivre en ville à l’horizon 2030, et dans des villes de plus en plus grandes : les mégapoles.

Ces rythmes trop rapides, une urbanisation non contrôlée, contribuent au déracinement de plus en plus de personnes, sans accès aux services de base et éloignées des opportunités d’échanges économiques.

Dans les pays les plus développés comme dans les pays les moins avancés, si elle peut être liée à la pauvreté, à la précarité, à la difficulté d’accès aux ressources matérielles, la grande exclusion est cependant une notion beaucoup plus complexe, stade ultime d’un long processus de manques, de désaffiliations et de dépossessions multiples. L’exclusion est une mort clinique sociale.

Pour répondre aux besoins des personnes en grande exclusion dans les villes, le docteur Xavier Emmanuelli a créé le samusocialdeParis en 1993 avec pour mission d’aller vers ces personnes.

Qui sommes-nous

Fort de cette première expérience et pour répondre aux nombreuses sollicitations venant d’autres villes, le samusocialInternational a été créé en 1998 avec pour objet, tel que dans ses statuts :

« Créer, promouvoir et soutenir par tous les moyens de communication ou de formation possibles, dans toutes les villes du monde où se posent les problèmes liés à l’exclusion sociale, tels que l’abri, la nourriture, l’accès aux soins, la souffrance psychique ou toute autre conséquence du rejet, de la rupture des liens humains économiques et sociaux, des dispositifs analogues à celui mis en œuvre au samusocialdeParis, répondant aux critères définis par les objectifs et la Charte du  samusocialInternational  et développer toutes les missions connexes qui peuvent s’y rattacher directement ou indirectement. Des conventions, des échanges de toutes sortes, ainsi que des accords de formation seront mis en place. L’association aura en outre pour but de collecter des fonds et susciter des financements pour soutenir les samusociaux, conforme à l’esprit du samusocialdeParis, sur le territoire national et, dans les mêmes conditions, créer, soutenir et accompagner les samusociaux à l’étranger, dans leur action, leurs recherches, leur particularisme. Le samusocialInternational aura pour vocation également d’expertiser, d’évaluer et de labelliser les samusociaux. »

Le samusocialInternational est membre de la plateforme Coordination SUD, la coordination nationale des ONG françaises de solidarité internationale.

® samusocial International | Mentions légales | Contact | Webdesign : Limbus Studio